Save a Penny, Save the Earth

Saving money is something everyone wants to do, but by saving money, you can also save your mother (the Earth) in the process!

March 13, 2011

Filed under: Environment,Green Living,Homemade Cleaners,Saving Money — Katie.Sewell @ 9:53 pm

I have an aversion to strange things. For example, I do not like the smell of cleaners. Some people like that smell, and more power to them. However, I hate the smell. I do not want my entire bathroom to smell like toilet cleaner for two days just because I cleaned the toilet. I was also put off by the cost of buying “green” toilet bowl cleaner. I love a clean toilet and I love trying to save the planet, but no one should spend that much on cleanser. Not to mention that toilet bowl cleaner is one of the most toxic cleaners people keep in the house.

If you are in the same boat, or if you are just looking to green up your cleaning habits and save some hard-earned cash, I have got a great solution for you! I had been using Borax for a while to clean our toilet. It not only polishes and cleans, but it disinfects as well. Today, though, I was running low on Borax, so I decided to try Baking Soda. We had a couple of boxes of it in the cupboard. I pulled out a box, grabbed a bowl, and a pair of cleaning gloves and headed to the bathroom. Following the recipe below, I came up with a delicious smelling paste that worked wonders on the toilet. The best part is that our bathroom now smells minty fresh.A Green Grass Toilet

Homemade Toilet Bowl Cleaner

  1. Dump  a liberal amount of baking soda into a bowl. I used about 1/2 a cup.
  2. Add about 12 drops of peppermint oil (or an essential oil of your choice).
  3. Add just enough water to make a thick paste.
  4. Slather the paste in your toilet bowl and scrub away!
  5. Rinse.

To get rid of any stinky-ness in your toilet, simply let the baking soda paste sit on the sides of the bowl for a while. It is a natural deodorizer.

Now, I will note that I used my hands and a wash cloth to clean the part of the bowl that sits above the water line (I was wearing gloves, though). If you have an aversion to sticking your hands in your toilet (I’m just going to note that the average toilet is cleaner than most computer keyboards), wear some gloves OR water the paste into a cream and put it into a squeeze bottle and squirt it into the bowl. I did use a scrub brush for the areas below the water line.

Savings by using this recipe? I am not a mathematician, but I can tell you that entire box of baking soda and the water used cost a LOT less than buying more “name brand” toilet bowl cleaner.

We plan on picking up some more Borax on Friday and I am sure that this same recipe will be just as handy with a slight change in ingredients.

 

Leave a Reply

