Save a Penny, Save the Earth

Saving money is something everyone wants to do, but by saving money, you can also save your mother (the Earth) in the process!

Natural Febreze June 16, 2011

Filed under: Environment,Green Living,Homemade Cleaners,Saving Money — Katie.Sewell @ 4:10 pm

Wow! It has been a while since I posted anything on here. My apologies!

If you live in Bloomington, IN, you know that it gets HELLA-HOT and really, extra humid. Well, I walk to work and to avoid the sun, I walk very early in the morning. However, I still sweat, which leaves my shirts smelling not-exactly-fresh by the end of the day. We do not have our own washing machine, and I do not like to waste energy and water on a shirt that was only worn once, so I wanted to buy some Febreze. What I found was that it is REALLY expensive and LADEN with chemicals. Well, I don’t know about you, but I don’t want that touching my skin.

So, what about a good, natural deodorizer?

I tried this recipe. You have to leave your shirt hang out all night to air out the vinegar smell, but it smells fresh in the morning!

RECIPE

  1. Mix 1 part vinegar to 2 parts water.
  2. Put in a spray bottle.
  3. Done!

Wasn’t that easy?

I have a friend who uses the same recipe, except with vodka. I have not tried it, but she swears by it and she does re-enacting in wool clothes in the middle of summer.

Have fun and stay fresh!

 

Leave a Reply

