Save a Penny, Save the Earth

Saving money is something everyone wants to do, but by saving money, you can also save your mother (the Earth) in the process!

Tired of Expensive Laundry Soap? June 19, 2011

Filed under: Environment,Green Living,Saving Money — Katie.Sewell @ 12:44 pm

This is going to sound like an infomercial, seriously.

However, I got seriously tired of constantly buying expensive laundry soap. I bought the expensive stuff because I wanted sulfate-free soap, which usually meant buying small bottles of Method that lasted about, oh, a month. We do a lot of laundry. One day, we were shopping at our local health foods store (Sahara Mart) and found a bag of things called “Soapnuts.” They are nut-like thingers that produce a natural soap that is biodegradable. They do not leave a scent on your clothes and CAN be reused. You just throw 4-5 in one of the cotton bags it comes with and toss it in your wash. I add 1/3 cup of washing soda for good measure since we tend to sweat when walking around B-town. I have to say, I have yet to be disappointed. You can also use them for handwashing.

I just realized today that we have had one bag of soapnuts for over a year. Over a YEAR! For the price we paid, which was about $20, I have to admit that I am more than impressed.

Needless to say, I highly recommend this product. I do not think that it matters what brand you buy, since a soap nut is a soap nut. Do some shopping online or go to your local health food store and see if they have any.

 

Enjoy!

 

2 Responses to “Tired of Expensive Laundry Soap?”

  1. Jamie Says:

    What is washing soda?

    • Katie.Sewell Says:

      Good question. It is some sort of natural laundry enhancer. I’m sure that Google could tell you more. I think that it mainly softens water for you.


Leave a comment